Caprock Canyons

I stayed at Caprock Canyons State Park in the Texas Panhandle for a couple of days.

The first day I didn’t do much of anything but lay in the tent to keep it from blowing away. Gusts of 50. It’s always windy in the panhandle, and it’s always from the west or southwest. I’ll get to that later.

The park was the most hospitable place I’d come across in 1300 miles. The redrock canyons were very nice to look at, there were a few trees to block the wind, hiking and mountain biking trails, and a town with a grocery store (but not much else) 5 miles from my campsite.

It was nice to have a cool place to stay for a few days, and do some things besides pedal all day. I met more nice people too.

    • Laura
    • November 24th, 2010

    You look pretty sun-kissed. Keep hanging in. :>)

      • jbemel
      • November 25th, 2010

      Yeah, I started getting sun burnt right away, which is usually not something to worry about in late October. But my face has direct sun all day. My hands have a pretty badass tan too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

