Kansas Anti-Bike Stance

Sign encountered smack dab in the middle of nowhere, for seemingly no godamm reason at all.

I encountered this sign on a county road in Kansas. I can’t remember exactly where it was now. I think somewhere between Marysville and Green. But it was in the middle of nowhere. Probably thrity miles in any direction from any kind of town. (I did pass a “town” a few miles away from this that consisted of two buildings, neither of them had roofs, but one said “Bank” in the concrete above the doorway. And it was on the map, so it must be a town.)

It was on a small time county road. I don’t think I saw any cars for thirty miles. I’m riding along, looking at blue sky, and empty fields, and countless dilapidated abandoned farm and ranch buildings, and all of the sudden there is this sign. I might be the only person for which this sign was intended to have actually seen the sign. I was confused. No bikes? Huh? For what reason?

Five hundred feet or so farther down thge road this sign appeared:

Thank's for looking out for me Kansas.

 

Oh! OK, I get it now. That bridge wasn’t much of an obstacle for bikes by the way. Most five year olds could ride accross it, but whatever. I was relieved to learn that Kansas hadn’t taken some crazy irrational anti-bike stance for no reason.

For the record, Kansas has been real nice to bike accross, except for the wind. The people have been great. I’ve been approached by quite a few unlikely looking people asking where I’m going and telling me their touring accross Kansas stories. Plus I got one of those Kansas DOT bicycle maps which has made picking my route very easy, and has kept me on mostly pleasant roads to bike.

    • Andy Tauferner
    • November 11th, 2010

    The Kansas DOT bike map led you to the road where bikes were prohibited? Too funny. You show them that they are wrong!

    Andy

    • Todd
    • November 12th, 2010

    Good job Jim. Keep up the good work!

      • jbemel
      • November 12th, 2010

      Thanks Todd. I’m shooting for your middle management position.

    • Uhtred
    • November 15th, 2010

    That soil looks pretty high in clay content, must be south Kansas, heck you may be across the OK panhandle by now.

    Those Kansans sure put up funky signage. Okies have a challenge to surpass it.

      • jbemel
      • November 17th, 2010

      I think it was in the northern half of Kansas. Ce to think of it, I’m pretty sure it was in Clay county. I have deviated quite a bit from that google map route. I headed more south. I didn’t go through OK panhandle. Bit I am in Texas now. Between Amarillo and Lubbock.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

